Faculty

 

Primary

Bagrat Amirikian, PhD
Assistant Professor

612-725-2000 x5544
amiri001@umn.edu

Computations in the Motor Cortex: Cortical Microcircuits, Functional Columns, and Motor Control Signals

Full bio

Alfonso Araque, PhD
Professor

612-806-3310
araque@umn.edu

Astrocyte-neuron signaling

Full bio

James Ashe, MD
Professor

612-624-5833
ashe@umn.edu

Motor Learning and Adaptation

Full bio

Matthew Chafee, PhD
Associate Professor

612-725-2000 x3542
chafe001@umn.edu

Intelligent behavior

Full bio

Marija Cvetanovic, PhD
Assistant Professor

612-626-4918
mcvetano@umn.edu

Glial Cells in Neurodegenerative Disease

Full bio

Janet Dubinsky, PhD
Professor

612-625-8447
dubin001@umn.edu

Mitochondrial permeability

Full bio

Timothy Ebner, MD, PhD
Department Head

612-626-9204
ebner001@umn.edu

Neurophysiology of cerebellum and motor cortex.

Full bio

William C. Engeland, PhD
Professor

612-625-4976
engel002@umn.edu

Neuroendocrinology of stress

Full bio

Apostolos P. Georgopoulos, MD, PhD
Professor

612-725-2282
omega@umn.edu

Brain Mechanisms of Movement and Cognition; Functional Brain Biomarkers; Cortical Networks

Full bio

Geoffrey M. Ghose, PhD
Associate Professor

612-625-8362
ghose002@umn.edu

Strategies in Visual Cortex

Full bio

Glenn Giesler Jr., PhD
Professor

612-624-3984
giesler@umn.edu

Somatic sensory processing, pain

Full bio

Rocio Gomez-Pastor, PhD
Assistant Professor

612-626-6824
rgomezpa@umn.edu

Protein Misfolding and Medium Spiny Neuronal Death in Huntington´s Disease

Full bio

Ben Hayden, PhD
Associate Professor

benhayden@gmail.com

The study of decision-making and executive control

Full bio

Sarah Heilbronner, PhD
Assistant Professor

612-626-4429
heilb028@umn.edu

Connectivity of brain circuits responsible for motivation and decision-making

Full bio

Christopher Honda, PhD
Professor

612-624-3915
cnhonda@umn.edu

Peripheral mechanisms of nociception

Full bio

Paulo Kofuji, PhD
Associate Professor

612-625-6457
kofuj001@umn.edu

Structure and Function of Potassium Channels in Glia

Full bio

Esther Krook-Magnuson, PhD
Assistant Professor

612-301-7747
ekrookma@umn.edu

Selective Neuromodulation

Full bio

Lorene M. Lanier, PhD
Associate Professor

612-626-2399
lanie002@umn.edu

Developmental plasticity

Full bio

Michael Lee, PhD
Professor

612-625-8472
mklee@umn.edu

Mechanisms of human neurodegenerative diseases

Full bio

Sylvain Lesné, PhD, MSci
Associate Professor

612-626-8341
lesne002@umn.edu

Abnormally aggregating proteins in cerebral brain tissues during the course of neurodegenerative disorders

Full bio

Arthur Leuthold, PhD
Assistant Professor

612-725-2000 x5546
leuth004@umn.edu

Magnetocardiography studies

Full bio

Dezhi Liao, PhD
Associate Professor

612-626-3522
liaox020@umn.edu

Molecular and Cellular Mechanisms of Synaptic Plasticity

Full bio

Wensheng Lin, MD, PhD
Associate Professor

612-626-5079
linw@umn.edu

Unfolded Protein Response in Neurological Diseases

Full bio

Mark Masino, PhD
Associate Professor

612-626-3741
masino@umn.edu

Central pattern generators

Full bio

Steven C. McLoon, PhD
Professor

612-624-9182
mcloons@umn.edu

Developmental neurobiology

Full bio

Robert L. Meisel, PhD
Professor

612-625-6796
meisel@umn.edu

Natural Experiences and Addiction Vulnerability

Full bio

Paul G. Mermelstein, PhD
Professor

612-624-8977
pmerm@umn.edu

Estrogen Potentiation of Female Drug Addiction

Full bio

Robert F. Miller, MD
Professor

612-626-2914
rfm@umn.edu

Physiology and Neuroscience of Vision

Full bio

Yasushi Nakagawa, MD, PhD
Associate Professor

612-625-4497
nakagawa@umn.edu

Development of the mammalian forebrain

Full bio

Eric Newman, PhD
Professor

612-625-2699
ean@umn.edu

Physiology and function of glial cells

Full bio

Giuseppe Pellizzer, PhD
Associate Professor

612-725-2000 x4215
pelli001@umn.edu

Neural control of cognitivo-motor behavior

Full bio

A. David Redish, PhD
Professor

612-626-3738
redish@umn.edu

Behavior, decision-making and information processing in neural systems

Full bio

Jocelyn Richard
Assistant Professor

richardj@umn.edu

The central goal of research in my lab is to understand how external cues and internal states act together to modulate motivated behaviors. 

Full bio

Patrick Rothwell, PhD
Assistant Professor

612-626-8744
rothwell@umn.edu

Modulation of striatal circuits in health and disease

Full bio

Gordon Smith, PhD
Assistant Professor

612-625-8823
gbsmith@umn.edu

Development of visual cortical circuits

Full bio

Mark Thomas, PhD
Associate Professor

612-624-4963
tmhomas@umn.edu

Neurobiology of drug-induced plasticity and addiction

Full bio

Lucy Vulchanova, PhD
Associate Professor

vulch001@umn.edu

Neuropeptides and spinal neuroplasticity

Full bio

Martin Wessendorf, PhD
Associate Professor

612-626-0145
wesse001@umn.edu

Brainstem control of spinal function: methods of fluorescence microscopy

Full bio

George L. Wilcox, PhD
Professor

612-625-1474
george@umn.edu

Neurotransmission of Pain

Full bio

Emeriti

Robert Elde, PhD
Professor Emeritus

elde@umn.edu

Neurotransmission

Full bio

Paul Letourneau, PhD
Professor Emeritus

612-624-5999
letou001@umn.edu

Developmental neurobiology

Full bio

Richard E. Poppele, PhD
Professor Emeritus

612-625-7623
dick@umn.edu

Neurophysiology of sensory-motor functions

Full bio

Virginia S. Seybold, PhD
Professor Emerita

612-624-9406
vseybold@umn.edu

Cellular mechanisms underlying hyperalgesia

Full bio

John F. Soechting, PhD
Professor Emeritus

612-625-7961
soech001@umn.edu

Motor control neurophysiology

Full bio

Adjunct

Karen Hsiao Ashe, MD, PhD

612-625-0963
hsiao005@umn.edu

Alzheimer's disease and aging: animal and cellular models

Full bio

Ruifeng Cao, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor

218-726-7691
rcao@umn.edu

Full bio

Marilyn E. Carroll, PhD
Professor

612-626-6289
mcarroll@umn.edu

Behavioral pharmacology, drug dependence, behavioral economics -- animal models

Full bio

Esam E. El-Fakahany, PhD
Associate Dean for Research, Faculty Affairs and Graduate Education

612-625-5695
elfak001@umn.edu

Neuronal receptor regulation, receptor coupling to second messengers, aging, Alzheimer's disease, nitric oxide

Full bio

Brian Engdahl, PhD, LP
Professor

brian.engdahl@va.gov

Predictors of PTSD onset and recovery including brain function, genetics, and spirituality.

Full bio

Carolyn Fairbanks, PhD
Associate Department Head and Professor

612-625-2945
carfair@umn.edu

Spinal Delivery of Analgesics

Full bio

S. Hossein Fatemi, MD, PhD
Professor

612-626-3633
fatem002@umn.edu

Molecular causes of schizophrenia and autism

Full bio

Jonathan C. Gewirtz, PhD
Professor

612-625-6653
jgewirtz@umn.edu

Molecular causes of schizophrenia and autism

Full bio

Steven S. Juhn, MD
Professor of Otolarynglogy and Director of the Auditory Biochemistry Laboratory

612-626-9879
juhnx001@umn.edu

Biochemical pathology of inner ear disorders, effects of aging on auditory system

Full bio

Alice A. Larson, PhD

612-624-3650
larso011@umn.edu

Central Pain and Neuroimmunological Mechanisms

Full bio

Allen Levine, PhD
Adjunct Professor

612-626-7173
aslevine@umn.edu

Energy intake and energy expenditure

Full bio

Linda Kirschen McLoon, PhD
Professor

612-626-0777
mcloo001@umn.edu

Craniofacial muscles

Full bio

Karen A. Mesce, PhD

612-624-3765
mesce001@umn.edu

Neural systems and neurodevelopment.

Full bio

Philip Portoghese, PhD
Distinguished Professor

612-624-9174
porto001@umn.edu

Full bio

Peter Santi, PhD
Professor

612-626-9881
psanti@umn.edu

Cochlear Anatomy Laboratory

Full bio

Donald A. Simone, PhD
Professor, Department Chair, Division Director

612-625-6464
simon003@umn.edu

Neural Mechanism of Pain Sensation

Full bio

Peka C. Savayan, PhD
Adjunct Assistant Professor

savay001@umn.edu

Neuorphysiology of motor control, Functional MRI of cognitive processes

Full bio

Kamil Ugurbil, PhD
Professor of Medicine (Joint Appointment)

612-626-9591
ugurb001@umn.edu

Magnetic resonance imaging and spectroscopy studies in cerebral function and metabolism

Full bio

Yi-Mei Yang, PhD
Assistant Professor

218-726-7818
ymyang@d.umn.edu

Full bio

No Results