Neuroscience Faculty added to Medical School Wall of Scholarship

October 13, 2016

Congratulations to Dr. Alfonso Araque and Dr. Apostolos P. Georgopoulos, Neuroscience faculty who have recently been added to the Medical School's Wall of Scholarship.  Details on their qualifying publications can be found here.

The Wall of Scholarship is located on the second floor of the Phillips-Wangensteen Building near Freshii and the Bio-Medical Library. The wall was designed and installed by Jerry Meissner and Bart King from the University of Minnesota Signs and Graphics Facility. It was founded to promote research excellence by Dean Brooks Jackson, MD, MBA. An opening ceremony was held on October 26, 2014, to commemorate the wall. Out of this effort, a new tool to track faculty publication impact was created by the University of Minnesota Libraries: Manifold.

Faculty listed on the Wall of Scholarship must have a primary appointment in our Medical School and be current faculty members. For work to be featured, the faculty member must have first or last author credits on a publication that has been cited at least 1,000 times as indicated by two of three major citation indices (Google Scholar, Scopus, Web of Science). The wall is reviewed annually each fall.