Welcome to the Department of Neuroscience

Neuroscience is the scientific study of the nervous system. It is an interdisciplinary science that collaborates with other fields such as chemistry, computer science, engineering, linguistics, mathematics, medicine and allied disciplines, philosophy, physics, and psychology.  The Department of Neuroscience is committed to providing excellence in research, education, and public service.

The Department of Neuroscience is part of the University of Minnesota's Medical School. The Medical School and related healthcare professional schools are grouped under the Academic Health Center.

Department of Neuroscience News

Dynamic Regulation of D-Serine Release in the Vertebrate Retina

Recent publication in the Journal of Physiology, February, 2015, by Eric Gustafson, Eric Stevens, and Robert E. Miller presents a study that investigates the functional properties of NMDA receptor coagonist release and whether or not light-evoked release mechanisms contribute to the availability of the coagnoist D-serine. See link to article in PubMed: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/25480802

Chafee Receives New R01 from NIH

Congratulations to Dr. Mattew Chafee, Associate Professor of Neuroscience,  who was awarded an R01 from NIH/NIMH for a project titled, "Circuit and Synaptic Basis of Cognitive Control in Monkey Prefrontal Cortex."  

Mermelstein receives NIH R25

Congratulations to Dr. Paul Mermelstein who received an NIH R25 grant titled, "Enhancing Diversity in Drug Addiction Research."  The funds will be used to support undergraduate students to work in NIDA funded faculty laboratories during the summer months.

Patrick Rothwell to Join Faculty in 2016

Dr. Patrick Rothwell has accepted an offer to join the faculty of the Department of Neuroscience in January, 2016.  Patrick received his Ph.D. from the Graduate Program in Neuroscience at the University of Minnesota in February 2010, and has been working at Stanford University  as a postdoctoral fellow at Stanford University in the labs of Dr. Robert Malenka and Dr. Thomas Sudhof.  We look forward to welcoming Patrick to our faculty next year!

Mike Lee Wins 2015 Carole J. Bland Faculty Mentor Award

Congratulations to Dr. Mike Lee, recipient of the Medical School’s 2015 Carole J. Bland Outstanding Faculty Mentor Award. This award was created through the generosity of Carole Bland’s family and friends, to honor her and to underscore the commitment of the Medical School to promote mentoring among the faculty. The award is meant to recognize the process by which faculty serve as role models for each other, promoting the professional development of others and creating a supportive, positive working environment. More on the award under Faculty Affairs at http://hub.med.umn.edu